Rugby Wales
     
Resolven RFC

 

 

 

 

 

Welsh Rugby Merchandise
RUGBY IN RESOLVEN

Resolven RFC

The Club first played at Tan-y- Rhiw, and after a few seasons moved to the Brick Field. In 1898, Sardis field was used as a playing base before moving again, this time to the Farmers Field. The club also took its first sabbatical in 1904 – 6 owing to the religious revival of that time.
The Drehir ground was used between the wars and the ground had a dressing room and grandstand, which were the Club’s greatest asset and the culmination of a half-century of hard work. The Second World War posed a threat to the very existence of the Rugby Club since a munitions factory (now known as TRW Steering Systems) was built at Drehir. In 1945, Resolven faced a rather unique position of being a member club of the Welsh Rugby Union without a ground.


However, owing to the hard work of Officials and Committee the Club moved to a new ground at Tan-y-Rhiw field (our present home) which opened on the 31st October 1946. The Club was much indebted to Capt. J.N. Vaughan who had granted the use of the field. On the 14th October 1954 the Vaughan family of Rheola kindly donated the freehold of the property to Resolven Rugby Football Club and the re-named Vaughan Rugby Ground and Pavilion was officially opened.

 

Resolven Rugby Sports and Social Club was formed in 1957 and soon became a focal point of social activity in the village. The facilities of the club have been improved including extensions to the Clubhouse, new dressing rooms, a second playing field and floodlights all gained by the hard work and generosity of those with the Club at heart

 

 

 

   
Site Design by Web Design In Wales © Exposure 2000 Ltd