Rugby Wales
Portugal Flag






Welsh Rugby Merchandise

Rugby In Portugal

The Portugal national rugby union team, nicknamed "Os Lobos," Portuguese for "the wolves", is a third tier rugby union side representing Portugal. They first played in 1935 and now compete in the European Nations Cup. Rugby union in Portugal is administered by the Federação Portuguesa de Rugby. Portugal qualified for their first Rugby World Cup in 2007. Portugal will be in Pool C along with the All Blacks (New Zealand), Italy, Romania and Scotland.


Portugal have experienced unprecedented success in recent years. They were surprise winners of the 2003-4 European Nations Cup and have continued to record impressive results, although they could only finish third in the 2005-6 event. The IRB Sevens World Series circuit has allowed the Portuguese players to demonstrate their competence to the wider rugby world. In 2006-7 Portugal will compete at every IRB sevens event for the first time. They have become an established power in the abbreviated form of the game.


Site Design by Web Design In Wales © Exposure 2000 Ltd