Rugby Wales
English Flag






Welsh Rugby Merchandise

Rugby In England

The England national rugby union team is a sporting side that represents England in rugby union. They compete annually in the Six Nations Championship with France, Ireland, Scotland, Italy, and Wales. They have won the championship on twenty-five occasions that includes twelve grand slams. England also compete for the Calcutta Cup—which they currently hold—with Scotland as part of the Six Nations. They are currently ranked seventh in the world.

Looking for more in your life than rugby ? - Easy Friends Dating


Englsih Rugby Logo

England players traditionally wear white shorts, navy socks with white tops, and a white shirt with a red rose embroidered on it. Their home ground is Twickenham Stadium where they first played in 1910. The team is administered by the Rugby Football Union. Three former players have been inducted into the International Rugby Hall of Fame.

The history of the team extends back to 1871 when the English rugby team officially played their first Test match. England dominated the early Home Nations Championship (now the Six Nations) which started in 1883. Following the schism of rugby football in 1895, England did not win the Championship again until 1910. England first played against New Zealand in 1905, South Africa in 1906, and Australia in 1909. England was one of the teams invited to take part in the inaugrial Rugby World Cup in 1987 and went on to appear in the final in the second cup in 1991 only to be defeated by Australia. Following their 2003 Six Nations Grand Slam, England won that year's World Cup — beating Australia 20–17 in extra time.

Click here to visit England Rugby Union home page


Site Design by Web Design In Wales © Exposure 2000 Ltd